Verified against each vendor’s own pages, 3 September 2026

Restaurant prep labeling systems compared (2026)

Six ways a commercial kitchen can date its prep. All of them produce a label. They differ on two things you can check before you buy: whether the vendor will tell you the price without a sales call, and whether the system decides what to prep or only prints a label after someone else has decided. We sell one of these, so read it knowing that — every claim below is sourced to the vendor’s own page and dated.

The short answer. If you want a labeling system from a manufacturer with a service contract behind it, look at the enterprise systems — and budget for a quote, because none of them publish a price. If you already print labels and only need the list, a subscription prep-list app is enough. If you already have a working process and just need stock, buy from a label vendor. If your team is still handwriting dates and you want the prep decisions and the printing to be one thing you can price today, that is what we built.

The finding that surprised us. We went to check competitor pricing so this page could rank the options by cost. We could not. Checked on 3 September 2026, three of the four named systems here publish no price anywhere on their own websites — the path is a demo signup, a quote request, or a distributor. That is a legitimate way to sell foodservice equipment. It also means a chef comparing options at 11pm cannot compare them at all.

The six options

In rough order of how much of the job each one does.

1. A prep list that prints its own labels

BOH Wiz

The cook taps a prep item as done and the label prints already dated from that item’s shelf-life rule. The list and the printer are one product.

  • Published price: $299.99 once for the Zebra ZD411, $129.99 per label pack (2 rolls, 4,672 labels, about 3¢ a label), $0 a month at every tier.
  • Tells you what to prep: yes — pars, on-hand counts, cases-to-pans yield, time estimates, per-location par tuning.
  • Tracks every printed label’s expiration and warns the day before.
  • Runs on iOS and Android, plus a web dashboard for managers. Unlimited devices per account.
  • Bring your own printer: yes, any compatible direct-thermal Zebra.
  • 30 days with the printer, return shipping paid if it goes back.

Best for: Independents and small groups that want the labeling and the prep decisions, without a monthly fee.

We sell this one. Everything above is published on this site and priced on the pricing page.

2. Enterprise labeling systems

Ecolab Prep-n-Print Flex

A cloud-based labeling platform with its own thermal printer, sold through a manufacturer with national service and procurement behind it.

  • Price: not published on its product page. The calls to action are “Order Now” into Ecolab’s commerce site and “Contact Us”.
  • Two configurations described: a Samsung tablet with the Flex app preinstalled plus a durable thermal printer and a secure holder with Knox Security; or the Flex printer with the free Flex app for iOS or Android over Bluetooth.
  • Cloud dashboard to monitor labeling activity across locations. Batch printing and reprint.
  • Prints food rotation and Grab-n-Go labels with automated use-by dates. A prep list or production quantities are not mentioned on the product page.
  • Its page claims “Save 60% in Labor vs. Handwriting Labels”.

Best for: Large multi-unit chains that want a manufacturer relationship, procurement integration and a service contract.

Source: ecolab.com product page, read 3 September 2026.

3. Label systems from label manufacturers

Date Code Genie

A labeling device plus a cloud portal, sold by a label manufacturer whose core business is the stock the device consumes.

  • Price: not published. The primary call to action is “Signup for a free product demo”, with separate purchase sites for US & Canada and international.
  • Cloud portal to manage, control and customise settings, with automatic updates.
  • Described capabilities: design labels, track waste and inventory, compute costs.
  • A prep list that tells staff what to prep is not mentioned — the described scope is label creation and printing.
  • Notable: it publishes an ROI calculator, which is more than most of this category offers.

Best for: Kitchens that want label design, waste and inventory tracking, and are willing to run a demo and a quote to get there.

Source: datecodegenie.com, read 3 September 2026.

4. Label stock vendors

DayMark

Dissolvable and food-rotation label stock, date coders, and adjacent software — sold as supplies.

  • Price: not shown publicly, and no online checkout is visible on the site.
  • DissolveMark food rotation labels, described as 100% biodegradable and FSC certified. Dissolve-A-Way stock has been sold since 1996 — this is the oldest dissolvable label line in the category.
  • Date coders in 1-, 2- and 3-line models, plus MenuPilot for automated food labeling.
  • MenuChex is food checks and task management software. Whether it produces a prep list with quantities is not stated.
  • Per-label cost is comparable to ours. We are not going to claim otherwise.

Best for: Kitchens that already have a printer and a working process and just need good stock, and don’t mind opening an account.

Source: daymarksafety.com, read 3 September 2026.

5. Subscription prep-list apps

category, no vendor named

Software that manages the prep list on a monthly subscription. It handles the list; it does not print the label or sell you a printer.

  • Billed monthly, per location. Entry tiers in this category are commonly published around $12 a month, and per-location or per-seat billing pushes the real number higher.
  • Tells you what to prep: yes. That is the product.
  • Prints the label: no — there is no printer in the box, so the date still gets written or printed somewhere else.
  • Over five years a $12 a month plan is $720 and a $30 a month plan is $1,800, before labels, and the printing problem is still unsolved.
  • We deliberately do not name vendors in this row. See the note under the table.

Best for: Kitchens that already print labels some other way and only need the list.

Category description. Pricing ranges reflect entry tiers published by vendors in this category.

6. Masking tape and a Sharpie

the incumbent

Still the most common system in American kitchens, and the one every product here is actually competing with.

  • Cost: nominally free.
  • Real cost: unreadable and wrong dates drive prep waste. Industry estimates put “expired but still good” waste at 4–10% of food cost for a typical full-service restaurant.
  • At a $1.5M-revenue independent, that is $30,000–$75,000 a year in the bin.
  • No expiration tracking, no print history, nothing to show an inspector.
  • If it is genuinely working in your kitchen, keep it. It is the cheapest path and we will say so.

Best for: Kitchens small enough that one person prepped everything and remembers all of it.

Source: ReFED food-waste estimates.

Side by side

System Price published? Tells you what to prep Prints the label Tracks expiration Monthly fee Use a printer you own
BOH WizYes — $299.99 + $129.99YesYesYes$0Yes
Ecolab Prep-n-Print FlexNot publishedNot mentionedYesActivity dashboardNot publishedNot published
Date Code GenieNot publishedNot mentionedYesWaste & inventoryNot publishedNot published
DayMarkNot publishedNot statedDate coders / MenuPilotNot statedNot publishedn/a
Subscription prep-list appsEntry tiers ~$12/moYesNoNoMonthly, ongoingn/a
Masking tape and a SharpieFreeNoNoNo$0n/a

Read “not published” as exactly that, not as a criticism and not as a no. It means we went to the vendor’s own page on 3 September 2026 and the fact was not there. Where a page did not mention a capability, this table says “not mentioned” rather than guessing. We would rather leave a cell empty than invent a weakness.

Why one row names no vendor. Naming a competitor whose product is comparable and priced below ours would be doing their marketing at our expense, and we are not going to pretend that is neutral of us. The category’s economics are described honestly and the arithmetic is the same whoever you pick.

How this page was checked

A comparison nobody re-reads is worse than no comparison.

Every vendor fact here was read off that vendor’s own public page on 3 September 2026, and the source is linked in each entry. Nothing was taken from a directory listing, a review aggregator or a competitor’s comparison page. No vendor copy or screenshots are reproduced beyond a short attributed quote.

This page gets re-verified quarterly, and the date at the top changes when it does. If you work for one of these vendors and something here is out of date or wrong, email [email protected] and we will correct it and say that we did.

Questions people ask when comparing

Which restaurant prep labeling system is cheapest?

Nobody can answer that honestly for you, and that is the finding. Checked on September 3, 2026, three of the four named systems in this round-up publish no price at all on their own websites: Ecolab Prep-n-Print Flex routes to Order Now and Contact Us, Date Code Genie's primary call to action is signing up for a free product demo, and DayMark shows no prices or checkout on its site. BOH Wiz publishes its price: $299.99 once for the printer, $129.99 per label pack, $0 a month. We can tell you we are cheaper than a monthly subscription over any horizon longer than 30 months. We cannot tell you we are cheaper than a quote we have never seen.

What is the difference between a labeling system and a prep list?

A labeling system prints a label after a person has already decided what to make and how much. A prep list decides: it holds the pars, the on-hand counts, the yields and the shelf-life rules, so it knows what needs prepping today and what date belongs on the container. Most of the systems here are labeling systems. BOH Wiz is a prep list that drives the printer, which is why the item a cook checks off is the label that prints.

Do I have to buy a new printer to stop handwriting labels?

Not necessarily. If your kitchen already runs a direct-thermal Zebra that takes a 2-inch label roll (ZD411, ZD420, ZD620, ZD220, GK420d, GX420d, GC420d, ZQ511, ZQ521 and most Zebra direct-thermal models since 2015), the BOH Wiz app pairs with it over Bluetooth and you only need labels at $129.99 a pack. Send us the model and we will tell you honestly whether it works.

Are dissolvable labels actually different between vendors?

Not much, and we will not pretend otherwise. DayMark has sold dissolvable label stock since 1996 and it is good stock. Our labels cost about the same per label as theirs. The difference is not the adhesive: it is that buying from a label vendor usually means opening an account or requesting a quote, and none of them sell the prep list that fills the label in for you, which is where wrong dates and wasted prep actually come from.

Which system fits a single independent restaurant versus a multi-unit group?

Enterprise labeling systems are built for large multi-unit chains and come with account management, procurement integration and service contracts. If you need that, you need that, and BOH Wiz is not it. BOH Wiz is built for independents and small groups who want the same one-tap labeling without an enterprise agreement: organizations with role-based access and per-location par tuning, still at $0 a month.

Try the one you can price today

30 days with the printer. $0 a month, forever. If it goes back, we pay the return shipping — see the return terms.

Start the 30-day trial

Or read how the prep list drives the printer, check full pricing, see whether a Zebra you already own works, or read the narrower prep-list software comparison.